1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Sand Blast or Soda Blast?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2018, 01:28 PM
ttpenman
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sand Blast or Soda Blast?

I'm a newbie to much body work, only done some minor patches/rust repair. Winter is winding down and I'm planning for my Summer projects. Going to be semi-retired and hope to have more time for projects.

I have 2 Ford trucks -- a 1986 F150 4x4 w/ 351 efi and a 1955 F100 Panel rolling chassis (no engine/trans). Plan to start with the '86 to learn some bodywork basics on a truck that I only plan to use for occasional use before I work on the '55 which has more potential value down the line.

Looking to get either a sand blaster or soda blaster (likely a Harbor Freight due to cost) and I'm curious about anyone's experience with either process? The little sand blasting I have done is with Black Diamond abrasive. Any thoughts on either process would be greatly appreciated.

I did contact a local speed shop to do the blasting and looks like will cost about $800-1000 to do the Panel. I assume the PU would be a little less since smaller. Is buying a blaster cost effective? Again, any thought appreciated.

I'm going to cross post this in the 1980-86 Bull nose Forum.

Look forward to any replies.

Old 02-15-2018, 03:24 PM
truckdog62563
Marmon-Herrington Man
Received 262 Likes on 216 Posts
Here’s a good article on soda blasting. It’s less likely to warp, especially on big flat sides like on your panel. I’m waiting for spring myself to do my cab so will follow along as guys add their comments. Stu

Soda Blasting Capabilities - Hot Rod Network

Old 02-15-2018, 03:35 PM
CharlieLed
Lead Driver
Received 467 Likes on 303 Posts