1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Sand Blast or Soda Blast?

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2018, 01:26 PM
ttpenman
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sand Blast or Soda Blast?

I'm a newbie to much body work, only done some minor patches/rust repair. Winter is winding down and I'm planning for my Summer projects. Going to be semi-retired and hope to have more time for projects.

I have 2 Ford trucks -- a 1986 F150 4x4 w/ 351 efi and a 1955 F100 Panel rolling chassis (no engine/trans). Plan to start with the '86 to learn some bodywork basics on a truck that I only plan to use for occasional use before I work on the '55 which has more potential value down the line.

Looking to get either a sand blaster or soda blaster (likely a Harbor Freight due to cost) and I'm curious about anyone's experience with either process? The little sand blasting I have done is with Black Diamond abrasive. Any thoughts on either process would be greatly appreciated.

I did contact a local speed shop to do the blasting and looks like will cost about $800-1000 to do the Panel. I assume the PU would be a little less since smaller. Is buying a blaster cost effective? Again, any thought appreciated.

I'm going to cross post this in the 1948-56 F100 Forum..

Look forward to any replies.

Old 02-15-2018, 05:54 PM
Rembrant
Fleet Mechanic
Received 125 Likes on 92 Posts
Originally Posted by ttpenman
I'm curious about anyone's experience with either process? Is buying a blaster cost effective? Again, any thought appreciated.
Do you have a place to use a sand blaster? They make a god awful mess...lol, even outdoors. If there's anything around that you don't want sand/dust on (like the wife's car), make sure it's a 100 feet away.