Hesitation, stalling, and white smoke - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Hesitation, stalling, and white smoke

Old 01-21-2018, 01:12 PM
Senior User

McBusiness11 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Hesitation, stalling, and white smoke

I have a 2005 f350 dually 6.0. It's 2 wheel drive. I drive for a living and the other day while driving it started losing power almost like it was running out of fuel. It eventually stalled on the side of the interstate, and after waiting a few minutes it cranked right back up and ran fine so I took off. Well, another 3 miles and it does it again, and again, and again, each time going less of a distance. So I stop on the 4th try and look at my fuel pump. It sounded weak, and when I removed the drain plug it hissed at me. The truck had been smoking a little all morning, but temps were right at zero. I pulled the upper fuel filter, turned the truck on, and it filled in a second or 2 but had bubbles in it. I have torque pro and all my values looked fine, hpop, icp voltage, EOT and coolant temp were only 6 degrees off. I've pulled #2 and #4 injectors to have tested. Reason being that I have a stored code for #2 balance and my #4 injector is an advanced auto brand. Any other ideas as to what could cause that? When I would try to crank it up after the 3rd or 4th time, I had a definite ticking on the driver side. I also had a low oil level. It was on the dipstick, just not nearly high enough.
Old 01-21-2018, 05:34 PM
Postmaster

navistarnut has a great reputation on FTE.navistarnut has a great reputation on FTE.navistarnut has a great reputation on FTE.navistarnut has a great reputation on FTE.navistarnut has a great reputation on FTE.
Did you check the primary filter for waxing?
Sounds to me like it's gelled up. Odds are the primary is full of waxing.
Fuel been treated?