1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

confused

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2018, 10:37 AM
jose0504
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy confused

Hi, everyone, this is my first time posting so please bare with me. I have a 99 F350 super duty 7.3L turbo diesel, I've read a lot of forums about BCM,GEM Ignition switches etc. and all the things that do not work because of these things being faulty. The problem I have is not that things don't work is that they all work when they are not supposed to. I can have the ignition off and key out and I can still turn wipers on, radio can be turned off but clock stays illuminated, heater fan can be turned on as well, all with the key out. The little indicator light on the headlight switch stays on as well as the dome light, and as soon as I open the driver door it starts to chime. I don't know if it's the key in ignition, or head lights still on warning chime, but neither is on. I Have changed out GEM and fuse box (both came together, used) new ignition switch and key lock cylinder, problems still exist. I am at a loss, any help would be greatly appreciated. It still starts and runs fine.Does the GEM need reprogrammed, or do I have a bad relay somewhere stuck in the closed position?

Old 01-29-2018, 11:16 AM
RightWingNutJob
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Welcome to FTE. Electrical problems can drive ya nuts!!

One thought on the strange electrical behavior - Superdutys from that timeframe have reported weird electrical issues that result from Windshield leaks. Water from a leaky windshield runs down behind the dashboard and flows along the firewall. When fuse panels and the GEM module get wet, it can cause strange intermittent problems that gets worse with continued exposure.