Notices
Excursion - King of SUVs 2000 - 2005 Ford Excursion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Whats the consensus on the 6.0s?

Old 01-11-2018, 03:27 PM
Saenzm
New User
Saenzm is starting off with a positive reputation.
Whats the consensus on the 6.0s?

I am in the market for an X and I was focusing my search on the 7.3 because I heard they were the best. I am new to Diesels so I am learning as I go here.

I heard the 6.0s were troublesome. IS that the case. I also heard there are some mods you can do that will make that a great engine. Can someone please give me some perspective here.

Is there a "Golden" year to look for?

Any advice would be appreciated.

I will be using the X to haul a young family of 4 and three dogs and towing a camper through the mountains.
Upgrading from a 2000 Suburban 4x4. Love this truck, but I think I will be better off with an X for towing through the mountains.

Thanks!
Mark

Old 01-11-2018, 03:56 PM
fastang50
Senior User
fastang50 is starting off with a positive reputation.
Consensus? This is the internet man!

The 6.0 suffered from two main problems: Ford's choice of coolant and an engine design that only has four torque-to-yield bolts per cylinder.

The coolant of choice drops out silicates that plug passages in the oil cooler, thus restricting coolant to the EGR cooler, which then pops. The 4 TTY bolts don't matter until the former happens or someone plugs in a tuner and cranks it to the moon.

Beside those two main issues, the FICM is a weak point, a few possible root causes there. And general diesel maintenance expense (expensive oil/filters and parts to maintain that a gasser doesn't have).

I have a 6.0, it's way better than most make it out to be but it's not been reliable in comparison to the 5.4 I had in my F250.

Buy a V10.

Old 01-11-2018, 04:14 PM
Don Naslund
Elder User
Don Naslund has a good reputation on FTE.Don Naslund has a good reputation on FTE.