6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Having tough time with injector install

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2018, 09:59 PM
Tampa250
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Having tough time with injector install

So I’ve just walked in the door at 10:30 at night after starting to install injectors on the passenger side of my truck, and although I made some pretty good headway today I’m in a jam concerning injector number five. Really hoping to tap into the brain trust here for some tips because I’m at a loss. I’m a service writer at a Volkswagen dealer and was a technician for another brand years ago, so I have decent mechanical skills. I’m also doing this job in the shop at work so I have access to a good selection of tools.

On the passenger side of the truck Ineeded injectors number three, five and seven. When I left work tonight number three and number seven are installed and torqued down but I have no idea on earth how I’m going to be able to get number five out because of that darn AC box! After doing number three I moved to number five and after seeing that it was going to be a bear I went ahead and skipped over it and did number seven. How are you guys getting that Torx bolt out for injector number five?!?! The T 40 socket I am using is half-inch drive and I can’t see enough room between that metal cover on the AC box for the ratchet and socket to fit. There’s got to be a trick to this and I’m really hoping that when I wake up in the morning there will be some replies here with some ideas. Certainly people aren’t removing that AC box to do this injector. My guess is that there is some special combination of a very specific socket that gives you enough room or something. I certainly can’t see how you would fit a torque wrench in there when it comes time for that.