Modular V10 (6.8l)  

Need Advice About V10 Excursion

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2018, 08:37 PM
bhicks
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need Advice About V10 Excursion

I'm totally new to the Excursion crowd. Been a Toyota guy all my life but I need something bigger with kid for coming and a new trailer. I need space and towing power that the largest Toyota (Sequoia) can't offer. My 80 series landcruiser takes care of my trail needs so I just need towing power and space and the Excursion seems like the perfect fit. I found a local 2001 4WD V10 (can't afford the 7.3). It has 143,000 and seems super clean from the pics. Two tone light blue/gray with leather interior and rear DVD. Two owners with lots of dealer maintenance on the clean CarFax. I'm going to go look at it some time in the next day or two. What common issues should I be looking for. It currently has a 4" lift on 35's. Looks like a low end lift made with leaf spring blocks and longer shocks. Nothing fancy. What drivetrain and suspension things should I look for on a 4" lifted rig. Factory recalls I should be looking for to see if they were fixed?

Old 01-10-2018, 08:43 AM
Toreador_Diesel
Retired Mod
Received 278 Likes on 141 Posts
There aren't too many issues to be looking for on a V10 as they're mainly trouble free beasts.

However, a few things to look for:

-Listen to the engine cold. Does it idle smoothly or does it seem to misfire some before coming to itself?

-Check the exhaust manifold studs make sure none of them are broken or missing. This is a lengthy repair that costs some money and time to do.

As far as the suspension, no blocks up front....period

A popular spring mod is the X and C code springs from Junior at ATS. I ended up with something similar to that and can run 35s, but I don't want to have to regear so I rock 285s.

I'll move this to the V10 forum for you and adjust the title.

Old 01-10-2018, 07:20 PM
DeltaV
Junior User