Need advice on 302W performance build

Search this Thread

Old 12-14-2017, 09:37 AM
Golden_F100
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need advice on 302W performance build

First and foremost, I want to thank everyone here for their support when I have asked questions regarding my truck. I deeply appreciate the help and do not take it for granted. This is going to be a longer post, in hope that I can relay enough information to get a good idea of what parts to purchase to achieve what I want to, with my engine build.

I grew up with this truck, and it was given to me from my father when I was 16 years old. Im 29 now. I am an Army veteran, and have a decent VA pension coming in from my injuries in the service to facilitate this build. I am not afforded the ability to ask local machine shops for this advice because I currently live in Germany, because of the military. My truck is currently stateside with my father. My plan is to have the parts shipped stateside and then I am going to take a trip back stateside and ill get it all done. I want to get the truck done before I finally move back stateside in 2019. I know a bit about working on my truck, and automotive mechanics in general, but I am at a loss when rebuilding a motor. This advice will help me learn a little I am sure.

Anyways...

My goal for my 1980 Ford F100 SB Flareside 2WD is to have an extremely impressive 0-60 time (acceleration), while keeping my C6 and my 3.73 gearing (I do not want to go to any higher gearing), looking for more torque over HP I presume? I want to replace the top end of my current engine, an engine swap is not something I want to do at the moment.