2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

3.73 vs 4.30 what is electronic locking?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2017, 06:57 PM
BHPR
Mountain Pass
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
3.73 vs 4.30 what is electronic locking?

Looking at the option of a 4.30 axle ratio and an FX4 package and I would go from a limited slip? to a electronic locking axle? What does that mean?

Dammit Jim I'm a photographer not a truck mechanic......

Thanks

Old 12-06-2017, 07:23 PM
Desert Don
Lead Driver
Received 4,626 Likes on 1,644 Posts
Originally Posted by BHPR
Looking at the option of a 4.30 axle ratio and an FX4 package and I would go from a limited slip? to a electronic locking axle? What does that mean?

Dammit Jim I'm a photographer not a truck mechanic......

Thanks
Limited slip= rear wheels *TRY* to rotate at the same speed under *most* conditions.
Locking differential= both rear wheel are locked together and *WILL* rotate at the same speed under *all* conditions. I.E. there will be NO differential action what so ever. And with electronic locking, you just pull the 4WD selector outward, and voila!!! Your diff is locked, and when you push the 4WD selector back inward.......you now have full differential action, the rears can rotate at different speeds as needed for cornering, parking, etc.
Hope I made this as clear as mud for you!!

Old 12-06-2017, 07:54 PM
BHPR
Mountain Pass
so if I

select 4WD I will have locked rear wheels as long as I am in 4wd or will they lock when I lose traction in one? Does the 3.73 have the same feature? Maybe I read it wrong but it seemed I would not get that electronic locking in 3.73 just 4.30. Ugh this stuff is confusing 1st time buying a big truck so not up on some of this stuff. Thanks all!

Old 12-06-2017, 08:02 PM
HRTKD
Boondocker
Received 6,680 Likes on 2,745 Posts
Did someone call my name?