Are exhaust brakes necessary or just nice to have?

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2017, 12:07 PM
Metal twister
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Are exhaust brakes necessary or just nice to have?

As you can tell im new to this towing a 5'er. Buddy of mine insists that im going to be pushed to almost runaway mode going down the grade to the desert. Seems like i can just put the diesel in the appropaite gear and let the 6 speed std. Trans do its thing. Am i missing something here? That with good trailer brakes should do it? I mean guys are going up and down that grade every day with out incident. Of course my buddy has the exact same truck and has never pulled a thing with it so is he bolwing smoke or is an exhaust brake something i should be thinking about?

Old 11-03-2017, 12:17 PM
Sous
Fleet Owner
Received 4,460 Likes on 2,850 Posts
Nice to have, but not required.

Tell your buddy that people with trucks like yours and mine have been towing heavy all across this country for a long time and we do just fine. Mind you, make sure all of your brakes are operating properly including the trailer.

When I pull over the Rocky Mountains and some of the ranges in ID and MT I use my transmission (just like yours) more than the brakes.

Don't waste your time or money on an exhaust brake mod. Just don't drive beyond your means when traveling.

I used to tow a 10K lbs travel trailer, now I tow the 5th wheel in my signature. There are guys towing 20K lbs or more with these trucks and do just fine. Again, don't drive beyond your means or ability.

Old 11-03-2017, 12:27 PM
Shovelheadrob
Fleet Mechanic
Received 141 Likes on 80 Posts