5.0 or ecoboost for towing 3k daily? - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

5.0 or ecoboost for towing 3k daily?

Old 11-12-2017, 07:19 PM
New User

Morgan Moan is starting off with a positive reputation.
5.0 or ecoboost for towing 3k daily?

Hey guys, I'm a noob here.
I'm sure it' been talked about already but just lookin for some first hand experience.
I'm strongly considering the new 150 for my new work truck. I tow my 12 ft enclosed trailer everyday with a 08 titan and the fuel costs are starting to kill me. Curious about which engin package would offer the best economy while towing light duty. And if waiting for the 18 with the 10spd would be a sensible option.
any tips are appreciated!
Old 11-12-2017, 11:05 PM
Postmaster

HRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to behold
My Titan was certainly a gas hog, but it sure was a lot of fun too. I doubt that your return on investment of switching to a different vehicle with better fuel mileage will pay out any time soon unless you're driving hundreds of miles a day.

If the manifolds on your Titan are cracked that can negatively affect your MPG.
Old 11-12-2017, 11:31 PM
New User

Well, I know the forward cats are bad. I'm replacing them next weekend with some luck.
But I have towed the trailer 37k miles since march, and she's got almost 150k miles on her. Looking at trading in my 08 gt and titan on the new rig
Old 11-12-2017, 11:37 PM
Postmaster

HRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to beholdHRTKD is a splendid one to behold
Are you going with headers or oem-like manifolds? If it's headers you'll have to be tuned and the oem b-pipes probably won't be good enough.
Old 11-12-2017, 11:53 PM
New User