I got a free van! ‘91 E150 camper conversion project - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

1968-2013 Full Size Vans Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

I got a free van! ‘91 E150 camper conversion project

Old 10-29-2017, 12:10 AM
New User

RonGonzo is starting off with a positive reputation.
I got a free van! ‘91 E150 camper conversion project

I was given this van a few weeks ago. I’m a real estate broker and my client wanted it out before wslisted her property for sale.

Deal!

Here she is...

The van had not run in ten+ years. All four tires were flat and the front passenger was completely off the wheel after rolling the van back so we could work on it. The roof liner is mint but the front seats and carpet are in pretty bad shape. I’ll likely be removing most of the interior.

My buddy and I grabbed some tools, an air compressor, and battery from his 302.

The first thing we did was break the compressor. Next it took us an hour to get the hood open only to find out the battery we brought was dead.

Day one ended up being pretty disheartening but we’d be back.

The next weekend we had a new battery. We decided to bleed the fuel lines and I think it’s a good thing we did. The gas coming out was yellow.

After we topped off the radiator I hopped in and gave the key a turn. It sputtered a bit, I gave it some gas and it fired right up! I couldn’t believe it.

We had a smooth idling van but no tires. We loaded up the tires and filled them at the gas station. Once they were on we came back after a few hours and all four including the spare to replace the mangled tire held air.

It was time for a test drive. I’m sure there was a dozen things we should have checked but we were excited and decided to try around the block and see if there was any issues. Sure enough after backing out of the drive way and putting it in drive the transmission was slipping pretty bad.