1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Barely running standard trans '84 F-600 box truck.. need help.

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2017, 09:27 AM
Joe Rauch
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Barely running standard trans '84 F-600 box truck.. need help.

I am an insulation contractor in my second year of business... It is essential for me to have a box truck to keep my machinery and materials dried in and move around from job to job efficiently. Another contractor in my area contacted me, he had an older truck in his fleet he said he would give to me if I could get it running (it had been sitting for 8 years or so). I am not mechanically inclined at all, but the foreman of my crew is... We swapped the battery and starter, put some new fuel and B-12 in the fuel tank, and got it running... We moved it across town to my Dad's shop to work on it. There it sits... barely running. I haven't got the slightest clue where to start or what to look for... As an older truck, my foreman - who does his own mechanical work at home, is a little clueless too... The weather is changing for the worse here and we really need to get this truck road worthy to keep up w/ our work load. I'd really appreciate it if someone could give us some guidance - Thanks!

Old 10-22-2017, 11:15 AM
FuzzFace2
Fleet Owner
Received 2,104 Likes on 1,792 Posts
Joe, welcome to FTE.

You for got 1 important thing.........what motor does the truck have?

Do you know why the truck was parked?
You did drain any old fuel out of the tank and checked the tank for rust & crap sitting on the bottom right?
New fuel filter.
How about a carb rebuild as it had old gas sitting in it and could have gummed it up.
What shape are the plugs, wires, cap & rotor in?
When changing the plugs do a compression test so you know the ruff shape the motor is in.
Check all vacuum hoses for cracks or just broke off causing a leak.