Camper package or heavy service front suspension

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2017, 11:48 AM
Larrymac52
Laughing Gas
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Camper package or heavy service front suspension

i posted this on the 2017+ SD site, but thought I might get a better response from the towing Forum.

So I’m a rookie to SD trucks as well as one day in the future plan to buy a fifth wheel( first learn the truck).

I want the 3.55 gears and when building the F350, I try to leave out these packages, but it will default me to the heavy service front suspension as soon as I pick the 3.55 gears( I understand you can also use the camper package as well). The truck will be my everyday ride so I’d prefer to not have either because even Ford has a disclaimer that an unloaded ride will be affected by these options.
So since I evidently must have one of these with the 3.55 choice, which of these would affect the unloaded ride the least and/or might be beneficial when towing a fifth wheel when that time comes.

Old 12-12-2017, 12:11 PM
djousma
Cargo Master
Received 902 Likes on 327 Posts
I've got a 2016 with 3.55 and has the "snow plow prep" which is the stiffer front springs. IMO, nothing to worry about, rides fine. Best thing to do is to air your tires down to 65psi all around when not towing heavy.

Old 12-12-2017, 12:24 PM
Larrymac52
Laughing Gas
Originally Posted by djousma
I've got a 2016 with 3.55 and has the "snow plow prep" which is the stiffer front springs. IMO, nothing to worry about, rides fine. Best thing to do is to air your tires down to 65psi all around when not towing heavy.
Good to know. Thanks. Is one of these options more beneficial for fifth wheel towing?

Old 12-12-2017, 01:32 PM
seemoremud
Mountain Pass
The camper package also adds a rear sway-bar, which would be helpful with any towing.

Old 12-12-2017, 01:56 PM
djousma
Cargo Master