Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Looking at '89 F250 7.3 Diesel to Purchase - Have Questions

Old 10-11-2017, 12:03 AM
mebersole
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking at '89 F250 7.3 Diesel to Purchase - Have Questions

Hello Enthusiasts, I'm new to diesels and this forum, would like some opinions on an '89 F250 XLT 7.3 Diesel 4x4 I am considering purchasing (in the Northwest). 109k miles, original owner, used on farm and to/from Alaska, is asking $5k. I am not set on this truck in particular, it just happens to be convenient and close to what I am looking for in my next vehicle (currently have a '97 Tacoma with 350k + miles... it's time may be short). I'm thinking this may be a good "lead in" vehicle to the diesel world; if I like it, I'll keep it. I will not be towing with it, will be a daily driver. I've been reading a few forums and have a general idea of the truck but have some specific questions based on research so far:

Cavitation - One of the main issues I've found is that cavitation is common if SCA is not maintained. How do I tell if the engine has cavitation?

Glow plugs/starting - I've looked at the truck once so far and rode in it while owner drove. He sprayed starter fluid in intake to start (it was a cool evening, appx 50 F). I've read starter fluid is not good for glow plugs, and also that hard startup is a symptom of bad glow plugs. Can I assume by my observations that the glow plugs will likely need to be replaced? From quick internet research this work appears fairly easy and inexpensive, however some people seem to think it is a concern. Any issues on this I may not be aware of and should consider?

Speed - I've read the 7.3 IDI engine is VERY SLOW. Does slow mean slow acceleration, or slow top speed, or both? I don't mind slow acceleration, but I would like to be able to drive at freeway speed comfortably - i.e. between 65 and 80mph.