6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

New to the site, looking for some advice...

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2017, 09:31 AM
LTL Joe
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question New to the site, looking for some advice...

I have searched the site for any information on my question and had no luck, so I thought I would post in hopes of getting some insight from all you powerstroke guys!!!

I have a 2013 F-350 with the 6.7 and 140K miles... Bone Stock!! I use this truck for work as I am a hot shot driver pulling a 40' 8k lb. gooseneck daily with it and at times load an additional 16K worth of freight. I was told recently by a mechanic that the 2011 to 2014 are notorious for having the high pressure fuel pump FAIL around 150K miles, which ends up being a very costly repair. He said that the $1700.00 price to replace it would be the best thing to do as well as a full delete of the EGR, cutting the DPF filter in half and hollowing it out and re-welding along with a generic tow tune being added for another $1100.00. My question is if the fuel pump is truly an issue do deal with and although the delete is pretty basic, is a generic tow tune the right way to go?? I know nothing about tuners other than the fact that if it's the wrong one it could fry your motor.... I need longevity from this motor, not looking to make it fast... Thank you in advance for any advice and sorry for the long 1st post..

Old 10-03-2017, 11:14 AM
Just Strokin
Post Fiend
Received 98 Likes on 84 Posts
Might want to ask this over in the 6.7L forum. I have not seen any real problems with thee HPFP failing at any special interval. Most seem to fail from water induced into the fuel system.

Maybe one of the moderators will move this to the 6.7 forum and you can get more input.

Old 10-03-2017, 11:32 AM
glruff
Super Moderator
Received 157 Likes on 93 Posts
Moved to 6.7 forum.

Welcome to FTE!

Old 10-03-2017, 11:48 AM
garmford
Senior User