Sponsored by: Moser

1978 F100 351M Build Help and Progress

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2017, 06:48 PM
cwaskoiviak
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1978 F100 351M Build Help and Progress

Whats up guys. New to the forum. I have been reading here for months and I am now ready to start my build. I have a 78 F100 Ranger SWB, it has the 5.6 351M motor all stock, automatic I believe it is a C4 tranny. I have been wanting to build this for a couple of years and I am finally ready to start. I am posting this thread as a place for me to post about the build progress and also to ask questions if I can. I have some experience with 101 mechanics, fluids, filters, plugs, water pumps, alternators, etc. but I have never done anything like this. I learn everything from either youtube or just reading online.

I am building this to be a fun daily. I want reliability, driveability and fun...im expecting to pay for it at the pump and thats okay. I am planning on doing cam, lifters, springs, timing set, ignition, intake manifold and carb all right now, then headers and exhaust once its broken in. Not set on exact parts yet so suggestions are helpful. I am thinking maybe a Comp Cams Thumpr kit part number k32-600-5 (has lifters, valve train, cam, and timing set for $460 on summit. Weiand performer plus intake manifold $224 on summit. Still havent decided about the ignition, carb or exhaust.