Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

What's my Vacuum Gauge Telling Me?

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2017, 12:24 PM
bsraborn
Senior User
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Question What's my Vacuum Gauge Telling Me?

Thought I'd come to my favorite place for some help!

1974 302 fresh rebuild w/ ~7000 miles. Only thing not replaced is distributor (original) and ignitor (~15 years old).

Drove my truck home yesterday, and threw the vacuum gauge on the vacuum tree off the manifold. Interested to get opinions on what the gauge is telling me. A link to a good vacuum chart would be good too. The way I see it, the vacuum increases ~1 in-hg irregularly. Can't find that on any vacuum charts. I'm leaning towards ignition/distributor, but this is my first time running diagnostics off vacuum.

Performance Issues - The only issue is a shift happy (1-2, 2-1, 1-2...) transmission between 1&2 at rolling speed (no throttle). I am wondering if this may be the source.

None of this is a new development in the engine or transmission. Has been like this since rebuild.

Video's have idling in park and in drive as well as goosing it. The off idle vacuum starting ~1000 rpm and up is steady. I didn't have enough hands to take a video.

Idling in Park:

Idling in Drive:

Goosing in Park:

Old 06-08-2017, 01:11 PM
beartracks
Lead Driver
Received 140 Likes on 117 Posts
I'd check the trans vac. modulator. If you have a suction device you can make sure it holds a vacuum. It affect shift points and could be a vacuum leak source. Otherwise you might need to fine tune the carb idle mix.

Old 06-08-2017, 01:52 PM
Tedster9
Post Fiend
Received 66 Likes on 65 Posts