1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Rattling noise from behind timing cover

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2017, 07:12 PM
fordguy98
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rattling noise from behind timing cover

Ok so I need y'alls help in a bad way. I just bought a 85 f150 351w lariat with 66k original miles a couple of weeks ago. I was driving it to go get my tags for it and it all of a sudden starts to make a noise from the front of the engine. My first thought is maybe the fuel pump but that checked out to be good so I put a new timing set in it today thinking that the chain was too loose, I start it up and it up and it's making the exact same noise as before. I did notice when I had it apart that the fuel pump eccentric had quite a bit of slop out but being as this is my first time tearing down an engine that far I don't really know how much slack is supposed to be in the eccentric.. so here's my question what's the chances that the outer ring of the eccentric could be too lose and rattling around?? What are y'alls thoughts as to what it could be? Any help would be appreciated because I'm really starting to get discouraged

Old 06-04-2017, 07:29 PM
reamer
Logistics Pro
Received 20 Likes on 15 Posts
Timing chain area or Waterpump?

Old 06-04-2017, 07:33 PM
fordguy98
Tuned
Originally Posted by reamer
Timing chain area or Waterpump?
timing chain area or that's where it sounds like it's coming. It shouldn't be the water pump because I put a new one on it since I already had everything pulled off.

Old 06-04-2017, 08:08 PM
silar
Elder User
You said you have slop in the eccentric? Do you mean it kind of wiggles around like the eccentric is loose? I have a 302 and not a 351, but should be similar, and when I replaced my timing chain, gears, and water pump, my eccentric didn't have any slop. That might be the sound you're hearing.

Can you take a video of the sound and post it?

Old 06-05-2017, 12:04 AM