2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Towing a large 5th Wheel with F-250

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2017, 06:30 AM
Bassboatman
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towing a large 5th Wheel with F-250

I have a 41 Foot 5th Wheel, with a GVWR of 14,995 and a hitch weight of 2,496. My truck is a SRW F-250 with standard bed. Truck is stock, except for Fox 2.0 Shocks, which are a little sloppy in my opinion. I am new to 5th Wheel towing and would like to know if I need to make any mods to this truck to tow my monster 5th Wheel. I have towed it with my friends older GMC dully and felt that it was a load for it. What hitch do you recommend, I was looking hard at the Anderson Ultimate Hitch. Should I try to tow it without adding air bags? And are the fox shocks going to be to soft? Thanks!!

Old 05-17-2017, 06:47 AM
The Big Tow
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
A friend of mine, that I see occasionally, tows what he says is the biggest 5th Wheel made and he does it with a Ram 2500 SRW Mega-something or other. Mega Cab??

I don't know what hitch he uses but I do know he needs airbags and he uses them.

Last Memorial Day, he towed it through the Blue Ridge Mountains on I-77 with me following him in my F-150 and he had no problem keeping ahead of me. At all.

That view going from Virginia into NC is astonishing

He then went on to put another 11,000 miles on the rig last Summer, including a trip through the Rockies.

He won't own a dually. Hates 'em. Don't want one.

But he's also insane, IMHO.

So, there's that

Old 05-17-2017, 07:03 AM
MisterScotty
Junior User