2017+ Super Duty The 2017+ Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty Pickup and Chassis Cab

Moonroof Leaks Now From High Pressure Car Wash.

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2017, 08:10 PM
TrikeDawg
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Moonroof Leaks Now From High Pressure Car Wash.

I've been using the same automatic car wash for over two years now and never had any problem with my moonroofs leaking until today. Upon on closer inspection of the seals around the sliding and fixed portion of the moonroof, the high pressure jets that rinse off the truck have torn the seal around the entire moonroof. The tear on the gasket matches up with the fixed jets on the arm that rinses off the soap. My wife uses the same car wash and there is no apparent damage on her moonroof. I'm guessing the additional height of the with the close clearance. Check your moonroof seals if you use this kind of car wash.

Old 04-23-2017, 09:05 PM
Blwnsmoke
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I don't believe it is the carwash that did it. The high pressure pumps only run about 275psi.. not enough to damage or tear seals.

Old 04-23-2017, 09:36 PM
docup!
Junior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I know mine also leaks from the same style car wash, I just have not inspected the seals...will be tomorrow though. I now have them hand wash...the jets are just too close only about 4!inches away

Old 04-23-2017, 09:44 PM
TrikeDawg
Tuned
The BluWave Profiler High Pressure car wash rinse uses 750psi.
BluWave Linear Profiler High-Pressure Car Wash Rinse | MacNeil

The car wash owner said he would cover the repairs.

Old 04-23-2017, 10:08 PM
wb6anp
Logistics Pro
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Being that low to the vehicle I think that would damage any moonroof at that pressure.

Old 04-24-2017, 08:20 AM
RJC2
Laughing Gas
Received 1 Like on 1 Post