Introduction and question: HAVE I MADE A BIG MISTAKE? - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Introduction and question: HAVE I MADE A BIG MISTAKE?

Old 04-19-2017, 11:44 AM
New User

1961 Barber Pole is starting off with a positive reputation.
Introduction and question: HAVE I MADE A BIG MISTAKE?

HAVE I MADE A BIG MISTAKE?
Hello everyone, I just joined this forum and I think it's great! I can see you fellas have a huge amount of experience that I can learn from. I'll do my best to contribute what I learn from my own experiences too.

I just bought (I'm actually waiting on it to deliver) a 1961 F250 4x4. This is my first vintage vehicle. I'm a novice on everything...mechanical, paint and body, etc., but I want to use this as a learning opportunity and also as a chance to own and drive something really cool.

Back in the early '70's, I drove a truck similar to this one as a delivery vehicle at the small town hardware store where I worked. That one was meticulously maintained by the owner and I look forward to doing the same for this one.

My initial question is, have I painted myself in a corner by buying this truck? In anticipation of its arrival, I have scoured forums like this one, online parts suppliers, etc. It looks like there were so few of these produced that there aren't very many new or used parts available for them. I'm assuming that some parts for other models (F100) or model years (1962-63 or maybe even later?) will fit, but certain things like body side molding won't, because the F100 was a unibody construction for that year, and the 4x4 was a traditional separate cab and bed. Do any of you have this truck, and if so, would you mind sharing your resources? Thank you!
P.S. As soon as it comes in I will post some photos of it...it's red and white two tone paint...that's why my user name is 1961 Barber Pole.
Old 04-19-2017, 01:13 PM
Elder User