Oil & Lubrication  

Mixing synthetic oils

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2017, 02:29 PM
olfordsnstone
Lead Driver
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Mixing synthetic oils

I have an 05 Superduty with a 6.0 diesel engine that I have been using various synthetic oils for, for quite a few years now. I also have an 74 F250 with a rebuilt 460 gasoline engine that needs an oil change. The 74 probably has 5 or 6 thousand miles on that rebuilt engine.

I have several partial gallon bottles of synthetic oils, i.e. Delo full syn 5-40, Mobil 1 turbo diesel truck full syn 5-40 and a few bottles of Rotella T6 full syn 5-40. My question is, is it safe to use this oil up in my old F250 460 engine? I don't want to mix oils in the 6.0 diesel because those are such meticulous engines that I'd be worried about very expensive repairs as a consequence. My thinking is that the 460 engine is much more forgiving, yet I don't want to mess that one up either. Anyone know of a reason not to use and mix these oils for that gas engine?

Old 03-18-2017, 04:03 PM
onug
Postmaster
There's a popular oil forum online and guys mix oils all the time there. They even do a used oil analysis on the blend. I've even seen different SAE rated oils mixed. But not sure about diesel oils (I can only remember oils intended for gas engines) and I have no idea what the 460 is rated for.

In my one-person, not-a-chemist opinion, if the 460 can handle that rating of oil I don't see any issues by mixing different brands. It will all blend together. But if you're not sure, just recycle it or sell it. I personally wouldn't blend even common weight oils in modern engines, but I'm Type A like that...But I'd do it in a nice old 460.

Old 03-19-2017, 11:02 AM
pawpaw
Received 73 Likes on 71 Posts
Lots of unknowns.

In general, best Not to mix different Brands of oil, so as not to have base oil, or ad pack interaction possibilities.