1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

226 Valve Seats

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2017, 06:48 PM
acl9865
Tuned
Received 20 Likes on 10 Posts
226 Valve Seats

Hello all,

New here, hello! I'm a Mechanical and Aerospace Engineer in southern California. Grew up addicted to pre-1960's mechanical anything. Recently bought my first old truck, 1950 F4 flathead 226 4 on the floor sitting in a field. As I start to tear it apart for sandblasting I thought about the motor. It spins freely but hasn't been run in 30 years. If I'm going to overhaul it will I need to do hardened valve seats?I'll be driving it maybe 2000 miles a year in city traffic only. I was planning on rebuilding the carb and replacing fluids and seeing if it will fire. Otherwise I'll tear it down and do new gaskets and anything else in need of replacing.

Any advice or input on the motor or anything in general?

On other notes I'm buying 6 replacement 22.5"s, new 9r22.5's, sandblasting the (lucky me) rust free cab/fenders/hood, and having it powder coated.

Thanks,
Alex

Old 02-02-2017, 07:10 PM
49fordv8f4
Cargo Master
Received 69 Likes on 40 Posts
Welcome to FTE! Good to see another F4 here.
Mark

Old 02-02-2017, 07:18 PM
abe
One Meadow Green Owner

Received 2,599 Likes on 1,445 Posts
Alex, welcome to FTE the best Ford Truck Forum on the world wide Web! Your questions will be answered here, but there is one requirement.... you need to show us pictures of your truck.

About the hardened seats, I have read that if you don't haul heavy loads daily or race your truck then you do not need hardened seats with this no lead gas, nor do you need lead additives.

But if you are going to overhaul it why not put hardened seats in?

Good luck and don't forget the pics. And it sounds like you are way ahead since you got replacement rims for your " Widow Makers".

Old 02-02-2017, 07:24 PM
raytasch
Believe Nothing

Received 244 Likes on 153 Posts