1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

87 460 ambulance no power to fuel pump

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2017, 12:11 AM
zuczis
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
87 460 ambulance no power to fuel pump

Hey everyone, this is my first post on the forum. I really do like FTE. All of you have been really helpful.

I don't know much, but I'm absolutely willing to be corrected and take criticism to solve the problems my vehicle has.

Vin: 1FDJS34L0HHB14884

I am a college student. I purchased an 87 E350 McCoy ambulance. It's like a time capsule, seriously. It's like new. The inside has almost no wear. It's got 17000 miles on it. (Im the cynical third owner, I confirmed the mileage. There's no way the interior and exterior would match 117,000.

I bought the van to take me to work. The plan is medical school, so I'm also outfitting it to live in full time to save money.

I bought it from a veterinary clinic. They bought it from a fire dept in nebraska.
They (the vet) have run it infrequently.

What they did:
Rebuilt carb
replaced some hoses and belts.
Changed oil

What i've done:

To help
Hard ignitions:

replaced fuel filter

Replaced battery
Changed plugs (all 8 were old, sooty, same across all eight. No noticeable differences (Motorcraft platinum.)

Symptoms now:

In retrospect, the van ran out of gas because it pumped all of the gas to the nonfunctioning rear tank through my selector valve. I know this for a fact. I removed both tanks and senders. The rear tank took all of my good gas.

The insides of the tanks are really clean and nice, even the rear one which wasn't really used in a long time.

I completely removed the selector valve. I cut the 5 wires going to it.
(I have return lines btw. It was the 6 port. )
I spliced a transparent valmar marine fuel filter inline. I'm only going to run on the front tank.