1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

2001 Ford F-150 XLT Steering Wheel Doesn't Turn Wheels But Spins

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2016, 06:59 PM
F150Hippy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2001 Ford F-150 XLT Steering Wheel Doesn't Turn Wheels But Spins

Hi, I'm trying to help a family member fix their truck because their trucks' steering wheel has been having some slack in it that made driving it kind of dangerous but now steering wheel no longer works at all. Like if the steering wheel has nothing to latch on to, to make the wheel turn. Now, I'm no mechanic, that's why I decided to submit a post here so that I could maybe get some ideas as to what the problem might be. I will be attempting to do this myself, so all the info I could get would help.
Here's a little more info on the truck I'll be working on:

-2001 Ford F-150 XLT Supercrew Cab 5.4L Triton.
-Has been used as a work truck so it has some miles on it 200,000+ and it shows. He showed me the lower control arm and the upper control arms bushings are a worn. Some coming apart and others with cracks in the (the bushings).
-So might need some more things replace but need to learn more about the truck to figure out exactly what. Maybe a repair manual would help?!

Anyway, I'm probably just scratching the surface of the work needing to be done on this truck but for now I'll focus on the more important issues since without a functioning steering wheel he cant drive the beast. Might end up doing some customizing to the truck in the future such as changing the headlights to give the truck a more meaner look, along with the grill.

Old 12-11-2016, 09:33 PM
projectSHO89
Hotshot
Received 873 Likes on 725 Posts
Okay, if you cannot figure out why a steering wheel isn't connected to the rest of the steering mechanism, have the truck towed to someone who knows what they're doing.

The system isn't rocket science, it's pretty simple.

Old 12-11-2016, 09:48 PM
steve(ill)