6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

Regen/exhaust filter question

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2016, 04:06 PM
Magnolia Tom
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Regen/exhaust filter question

I'm new to the 6.7 so I'm still learning as much as I can. I recently added the exhaust filter screen to the display using forscan. I had a regen yesterday. I drove the truck until the exhaust filter displayed 0% full. I've driven about 130 miles today and noticed the exhaust filter is now 50% full. That seems really quick to fill halfway up in so few miles. Is this normal? If not what would cause it? I'm really entertaining the idea of deleting the rocket ship under the truck. Any guidance would be much appreciated

Old 11-03-2016, 04:28 PM
Magnolia Tom
Elder User
Well after reading up on the subject I guess a regen every 250-300 miles seems normal

Old 11-03-2016, 04:28 PM
L3dford
Senior User
It's within the normal range from what I've seen. Sometimes I only go 100-110 miles in between regens when not towing. A lot depends on quality of fuel. I do notice in the winter with the fuel change I get more miles between them.

Old 11-03-2016, 06:29 PM
senix
Super Moderator
Received 1,406 Likes on 1,002 Posts
different things make you produce more soot or less.

Same with the amount of def you use.

In town stop and go makes more soot. Steady hwy will create less.

Towing will use more def about due to hotter exhaust the soot will tend to burn off and not need a regen.

I average about 1 regen a month with the towing I do.

Old 11-03-2016, 07:39 PM
System
Prolocutor
Received 1,183 Likes on 568 Posts