Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gear material for Sterling 10.25 axle in 1989 Ford

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2016, 12:30 PM
bebyb
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gear material for Sterling 10.25 axle in 1989 Ford

Hello all, I have a 1989 Ford F250 and the bearings and possibly gears in the rear axle went bad, would make an awful grinding noise whenever the throttle was released. Anyway I did swap in another axle but it is an older axle and doesn't have the port for the ABS sensor. I am a machinist intern and certified welder so I am good with working with metals and would like to rebuild the original axle from scratch. Would like to make my own gears and other parts. I have access to manual mills and lathes, CNC mills and lathes, EDM machines, etc. My questions are these, does anyone know what steels these gears are made out of? Does anyone know of any superior steels that could be used (would like to bulletproof it)? Does anyone know the hardness level on the stock Ford gears? Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Old 09-19-2016, 02:11 PM
'89F2urd
Lead Driver
Received 122 Likes on 103 Posts
I think you're over thinking things...quality gears are about as strong as it gets and take serious abuse that a stock engine won't even come close to dishing out.

Old 09-19-2016, 03:50 PM
bebyb
Junior User
Originally Posted by '89F2urd
I think you're over thinking things...quality gears are about as strong as it gets and take serious abuse that a stock engine won't even come close to dishing out.
Oh absolutely, I just want to manufacture my own gears from scratch because it will be a good school project for me. Have always wanted to do something like that.

Old 09-19-2016, 04:15 PM
Scndsin
FTE Chapter Leader

Received 760 Likes on 542 Posts