Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Battery connected backwards - my story

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2016, 02:18 PM
supernova1987a
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Battery connected backwards - my story

So long story short - I was trying to fix the power windows motor/regulator, and during one of the testing sessions I dropped a Costco battery in WHILE THE KEY IS AT THE ON POSITION.

I quit defending myself a long time ago. I'm an engineer, too. Whoa, you say.

In the debugging process, I came across this forum dozens of times and it helped me tremendously. Time to give back.

Here's a list of things that went wrong -

1) Two wires from solenoid to alternator rectifier are melted. The fusible links did NOT.

2) Alternator rectifier is bad. Possibly other parts of the alternator too, but I replaced the whole thing so I don't know for sure. The bad rectifier ended up frying the rectifier connector too AFTER the battery was connected correctly. In my case, some diode in the rectifier was SHORTED, not opened, as my rudimentary circuit analysis revealed. Lesson - in this kind of massive electrical failure, test the alternator first before you proceed elsewhere.

3) The ignition control module was dead. Very dead. This created a no-spark condition. After following a pretty elaborate test procedure I finally pinpointed the problem. I was getting worried that the ECU was fried too, but the problem ended in the ICM.

4) An ACG fuse connected to the radio head unit was blown. Fixed it this morning.

5) A positive battery wire. The old one just looks awful and it makes a high-impedance connection to the + terminal, which probably caused the old battery's untimely death anyway.

Of course, I replaced a few things that wasn't needed to be replaced, including: