1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

If it ain't one dern thing, it's 5 others

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2016, 10:47 PM
mountzionryan
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If it ain't one dern thing, it's 5 others

My 1981 F-150 Custom 4sd 351w started running rough a few weeks ago. Time for that carb rebuild I'd been putting off. She'd been hesitating too much and a previous problem had been solved by cleaning the needles and replacing the fuel filter.

As I am a novice at this; and as I bought Hildisvíni with a goal of learning; and as I have basically just rushed headlong into everything I've done to her so far; I bought the kit plus a secondary diaphragm and started taking things apart.

I also replaced the valve cover gaskets and spark plugs.

A few days later and she's still rough, hesitates like crazy, and no amount of tuning the carb seems to help.

So I take a day to relax. Come back and try again, this time armed with some tech help from Holley. I get her running, drive around the block, all seems...ok. No better, really than when I started.

The next day, Sunday, I drive to church without too much trouble. She is boggy and hesitating. I really have to ease her up to speed. After church I can't keep her running. And finally she won't even start up.

Go home frustrated and embarassed. Come back later and install a new fuel pump and fuel filter. The filter (clear plastic) has a shocking amount of black sludge. So I figure I've got it solved. Pump back on, filter back on.

No good.

That's when I realize the distributor is loose. Like, freely rotating through 60 degrees. (Or so it seems now, I haven't measured it).