Someone help me understand GCWR

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2016, 02:46 AM
revlis240
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Someone help me understand GCWR

Hello guys,
Ok, while I am new to heavy towing, I have decades of experience when it comes to the automotive industry. I am starting a auto transport business and have some questions.

I am a believer that "they dont build em like they used to" so I am hunting a 1996 to 2000 PSD 7.3. Ive done a LOT of research but something is troubling me.

Whether it be the PSD, Dodge 3500, Chevy 3500, etc. They ALL have a GCWR of 20000 lbs until you start getting to the 06+ model years when they started creeping up to 26k and beyond.

So if the average truck weighs 7000lbs, the average 2 car steel trailer weighs 7000 lbs, that only leaves you 6000 lbs worth of payload. That is barely enough for 2 toyota camrys these days, let alone heavier cars like say a BMW X5 which tips the scales at over 5000lbs.

Yet I see these trucks hauling 2 car loads, 3 car loads, heck even 4 car loads ALL day long and are CLEARLY over the GCWR.

The real question is while I know the truck will handle it all day long when properly equipped, what about the legality? Are all these people illegal? That cant be? Wont the insurance deny the claim in the event of an accident due to being thousands of lbs over weight?

Any help would be appreciated! I really dont want a 06+ truck and I know the F450/550 are an option, but I am just curious how it is being done all day from what I perceive to be an illegal way.

Thanks!

Old 07-28-2016, 06:14 AM
Mark Kovalsky
Fleet Owner

Received 1,571 Likes on 1,049 Posts
You're right, they are illegal. You need to decide if that's how you're going to do it. The difference is that if they are hauling their own stuff that makes them non-commercial and generally they don't get bothered. If you are commercial you WILL have a big problem if you are over GCWR.