Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

97 super duty 460 gas tranny changeover info

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2016, 04:16 PM
windybob
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
97 super duty 460 gas tranny changeover info

Hi folks. Newbie here. Trying to find my way around, haha. Been reading what I can find on swapping over my E40D with a stick. 460 gas, long utility bed, 2 WD Dually. Had it overhaulled about a year and half ago, blew the front seal again last week. Fortunately helpers got it shut down fast, over to the side, I went out and pulled it back. I've just about had all the enjoyment I need from the automatic. Never did perform like I thought it should, couldn't even spin a tire in the sand, much less pull the truck up a decent hill to get to certain locations. I'm in the windmill business, and take the old gal maybe even places where it's not supposed to be, but dissapointment runs high with the tranny here.
Starting to find parts for a swap, pedal assembly, hydraulics, etc., but no trans yet. Drive shaft, if I can't find one, can have one redone by a local driveshaft shop. Still searching. Don't know if I will take 5 or 6 speed, whatever I can to shed some headaches, unless I'm in for more than I have already. 2 grand at a moments notice and undependable reliability on this thing is taking years off my life, and I can't afford that. lol
To get going, at the moment, will take it out, re-install the from seal, get as large as an oil cooler as I can fit in the front, and hope for the best to get 'er back on the road, if no damage from the heat has occurred. I know heat is a critical enemy, and that's when the seal went the other day. 100+ temps outside.