So, I bought the "Black Snake Moan" '68 F100 Bumpside

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2016, 07:16 PM
timinbovey
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
So, I bought the "Black Snake Moan" '68 F100 Bumpside

OK, here's a post full of rambling

I bought the F100 driven by Samuel L Jackson in the movie "Black Snake Moan". Yes, it's really, truly, and certainly that truck. I say this because I've found two others listed over the past year for sale claiming to be this truck and they clearly aren't and the people selling them have obviously not seen the movie. And yes, I got it on ebay, and yes I probably paid too much, an dyes it probably cost too much to get it here from W VA to MN.

Every now and then I poke around the interwebs seeking out 1968 Ford vehicles. I had a '68 Torino GT convertible when I graduated high school in '76, and my family had a '68 Country Sedan wagon we drove on vacations for 10 years or so. So, I go poking around.

I stumbled on this F100 "Celebrity driven" on ebay. Didn't much care about the truck specifically, just looking for something interesting, and it was rather easy to verify it really was the truck just looking at stills from the movie on line and watching the various trailers. So, on a total whim I bought the thing, and had it shipped from West Virginia to northern Minnesota!

So if anyone else claims to have it, they're wrong

I have no beef with the truck itself, or the seller, or the transaction. Got exactly what I expected, but there are a lot of quirks, etc.

First of all, the VIN says it was built December '67. But it appears to have a '69 grille. But then, I could find plenty of Ford catalog and promo photos that also show '68 trucks with what look like '69 grilles, so who knows. I'm no expert.