1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

87 e150 with fuel at the rail, nice bright spark but no start?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2016, 10:07 PM
djohnton89
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
87 e150 with fuel at the rail, nice bright spark but no start?

Hi all! I'm a Long time lurker, first time caller.

I've got an '87 e150 conversion van with a 302 and EFI that I've been working on as a project car on and off for a few years now. It ran fine when parked about a year and a half ago around which time I had decided to paint it and do some floor work. After getting some of that done it developed a no spark condition and then life got in the way and there it sat until about yesterday.

Spark problem turned out to be the dizzy mounted ICM, so I replaced that and now have a nice bright spark at the plugs. In the course of changing the fluids I found the frame mounted fuel pump to be bad so I changed that too. With fresh gas in the tank, oil in the crank and all those new parts I figured it would start right up, so I turned the key and Nada. Nothing. Zilch.

What's got me stumped is; I've got around 40psi (although it does seem to bleed off fast) at the rail but I pulled two of the easier to get to plugs on the driver side and they don't smell of gas as they should for as long as I was cranking it. I did also squirt some gas in the throttle body with an old windex bottle and found that it did run for a moment but immediately died so I am pretty certain it's a fuel thing. I thought maybe the injectors weren't getting a pulse so I pulled one of the injector harnesses (actually two, tried one form each bank) jumped a test light across the leads and found it to flash when cranked like it should.

So I have spark, fuel at the rail and it looks like the injectors are getting a pulse but I don't think they're actually firing. Not sure what to try next and any thought or suggestion would be gladly appreciated!