1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

New old paint for Project Death Trap...

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2016, 06:46 AM
Tparkin99
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New old paint for Project Death Trap...

So, part of what sold me when I bought this truck was the "patina" and natural wear of the paint. It had/has mechanical and electrical gremlins that are a work in progress but its a project truck so I'm trying to pace myself.

That said, the body had some dents, creases and caved in places that just couldn't be pulled out and preserve the look that originally sold me. I decided to dive in, do some body work and straighten out the bad spots as best I could. I don't mind the weathered finish but want straight body panels underneath.

Since the old paint was gonna go due to the body work, I wanted to come up with the next best thing to keep with the old worn out theme. I'm no professional auto painter but I have a graphics background and can generally figure out how to get to an end result through trial and error...but this one...this one I just figured I would "wing it".

Started like this...caved in front left fender. Caved in pass side bed.

Found a JY replacement fender, got it swapped out and lined up...

Did tons of sanding, some more sanding and a little more sanding. I found some areas that had been previously repaired (or an attempt thereof) and had to grind to bare metal and patch/fill. Overall, wasn't too bad just tedious and time consuming. At this point, I'm only working from the cab forward since I'm, now down to bare metal and need to get at least a primer coat on the cab. The bed will need extra attention in a few spots so I'm tackling it as "phase 2".

Here's the cab forward after shooting it with Rustoleum Rusty Metal Primer. That's right, I said it....Rustoleum. This one aint going to Mecum or Pebble Beach so I'm going the cheap DIY route...