1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1950 F3 12 volt conversion with pictures and parts

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2016, 07:19 PM
Poes
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1950 F3 12 volt conversion with pictures and parts

There have been many threads on this subject to convert a Flathead 6 volt system but I thought I would pull together all I learned from this forum and go into detail with pictures and parts I found to convert the wiring.

I AM NOT AN ELECTRICAL ENGINEER AND CANNOT SAY WHAT I HAVE DONE MEETS THEIR REQUIREMENTS OR RECOMMENDATIONS. IF YOU USE ANY PART OF WHAT I DID, PLEASE PROCEED WITH YOUR OWN CAUTION. MINE WORKS AND I AM HAPPY WITH WHAT I HAVE DONE.

First I made up a list of my requirements:
1. I would use a one wire alternator.
2. I would use the MSD Ready to Run distributor with MSD ignition wires and coil.
3. I would use a 12 volt starter relay.
4. I would convert my starter to 12 volts.
5. I would run my own wiring and not use a pre-made wiring harness.
6. I would crimp, solder and heat shrink each connector.
7. I would use 2 fuse blocks. One that was "hot' all the time from the battery. The other would run off a 30 amp relay controlled by the ACC position of the ignition switch.
8. I would use relays to run the high and low beam positions of head lights.
9. I would grounds to each circuit not counting on frame, can or engine grounds. The only exceptions to this would be the alternator would use the engine block for ground. The horn switch would use a ground through the cab/frame.
10. I would use a WPM to control the fan speed of the 12 volt heater motor.
11. I would use the original gauges with two temperature gauges and no amp meter. I would install a voltage meter in a cigarette lighter. The gauges would use 12 to 6 volt converts with the bulbs being 12 volt.
12. I would use LED taillights.
13. I would use a STAT 900 turn signal switch.