1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Oil cooler removal / bypass temporarily - best way?

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2016, 06:06 PM
GreenMM
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Oil cooler removal / bypass temporarily - best way?

Hi all:

My oil cooler failed in a pretty big way.
I got a coolant rated 90 degree fitting and used the factory clamps to connect the two radiator hose lines together. That's solved.

On the oil cooler side... not solved so well.
At midnight being threatened to get my van off property by a wacko I temporarily installed a used 3/4" (or 5/8"??) coolant hose to connect the two inlet / outlet ports on the (failed) oil cooler together.

This quickly swelled up with oil. All was still ok. For. about. a. month.
Then you all know what happened next - catastrophic failure of the used coolant line. Yep, not rated for oil and higher pressures.

I got a new 5/8" coolant line a foot long for $1.79 and put that in for the time being to get me back home.

Is there any oil rated type of cap I could block off those oil cooler outlets with? Like a plumbing style 'jim cap' that is oil rated I could crank a hose clamp over?

OR what about for now completely removing the failed oil cooler?
As I understand it's a 14mm hex / allen bit to remove it.
I assume that oil stud that goes through the cooler in to the block is too long if the oil cooler is removed to put an oil filter back on? What about a longer one - like the Ford FL1A filter - something like that? Or would I need to get a shorter factory stud for the oil filter to bolt directly under the block - it's hard to find these details on microfiche / online.

Anyone remove / delete theirs?
I plan to reinstall one - I think. I will never tow with my e250 van. So not sure if it's really needed.

I would like to have something more solid to get me by - planning to buy a parts van soon to do the CNG to Gasoline fuel swap.

Thanks!