6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Question about a sound in the engine.

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2016, 04:52 PM
Deanp88
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question about a sound in the engine.

Not to long ago I traded my truck in on a 08 F250 with 103K on it. I am fairly new to the diesel market but I am aware of what it takes to maintain these engines. My question is, when accelerating mildly, I here a chatter or something similar like you would hear on maybe an older diesel. It will do it until I settle in to a speed and let off. If I give it more throttle it will get a little louder but if I let it downshift and hit it hard It is not as noticeable. Is this normal noise or rocker arm issues or part of the TSB for the chatter? I have searched and cant find a video of the rocker arm noise or the noise that the TSB is suppose to be. Truck is deleted with a mild tune and I think 5" exhaust.

Old 02-25-2016, 05:25 PM
Deanp88
Freshman User
I should also say that I do not hear it at idle.

Old 02-26-2016, 05:02 PM
Deanp88
Freshman User
Bump........

Old 02-26-2016, 07:07 PM
CrazySob
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Sorry I missed this yesterday.

I am 90% sure what you are hearing is pilot injection shutting off. Our injectors are capable of 5 injection events per firing cycle. This means that the pcm can control how and when combustion occurs. It also smooths the sound of the engine down A LOT. Stock tuning will start reducing pilot injection right around 1700rpm. A lot of tow tunes will keep pilot injection on to limit cylinder pressure till well above 2k rpm.

Pilot injection itself just ensures complete combustion and lower emissions. But at certain points in the power band the pcm will command it off to allow for more power (more fuel=more power). Its quite complicated, but long story short its normal.