Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks

1990 f150 5.8l e4od won't idle smooth

 
  #1  
Old 01-12-2016, 07:44 PM
pbrogan
pbrogan is offline
New User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
pbrogan is starting off with a positive reputation.
1990 f150 5.8l e4od won't idle smooth

hey guys my truck will sometimes run great and then sometimes sounds like a vacuum leak and will rev up and down and almost die. The smog pump was removed, not sure if that is causing this. thanks
 
  #2  
Old 01-13-2016, 07:02 AM
Preuett's Avatar
Preuett
Preuett is offline
New User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Springdale AR
Posts: 18
Preuett is starting off with a positive reputation.
if its throwing a code run by a shop or parts store and have them scan it.. sounds like a possible IAC valve going out.. i think they're around $30 - $40.. quick and easy fix..
 
  #3  
Old 01-20-2016, 03:14 PM
pbrogan
pbrogan is offline
New User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
pbrogan is starting off with a positive reputation.
it has a new iac
 
  #4  
Old 01-20-2016, 04:00 PM
Benztechnc's Avatar
Benztechnc
Benztechnc is online now
FTE Chapter Leader
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: The Ole' North State.
Posts: 2,645
Benztechnc has a great reputation on FTE.Benztechnc has a great reputation on FTE.Benztechnc has a great reputation on FTE.Benztechnc has a great reputation on FTE.
Originally Posted by pbrogan View Post
it has a new iac
Have you changed or replaced anything else on it?

Did you replace the IAC trying to resolve this issue, or was it for another reason?

Have you had the codes pulled. 1990 should be able to count the blinking lights and do a hand test, and not need the code reader. If you search the forum, I know the procedure has been posted before.

Or you can purchase a code reader, this is the one I have. 30.00$ If you plan to keep the truck, it wouldn't be a bad investment.
http://smile.amazon.com/dp/B000EW0KHW
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-2016, 06:09 PM
pbrogan
pbrogan is offline
New User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
pbrogan is starting off with a positive reputation.
I replaced it because it ran good but not perfect but it has only gotten worse. The check engine light is not on and I have that code reader but no codes show up. Now I try to use the code reader and it doesn't even work. not sure if it's me or the code reader. thanks for the help
 
  #6  
Old 01-20-2016, 07:13 PM
Lead Head
Lead Head is offline
Post Fiend
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,857
Lead Head is a name known to allLead Head is a name known to allLead Head is a name known to allLead Head is a name known to allLead Head is a name known to allLead Head is a name known to all
Will it keep running if you give it gas?
 
  #7  
Old 01-20-2016, 09:12 PM
pbrogan
pbrogan is offline
New User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
pbrogan is starting off with a positive reputation.
yes and it will idle without giving it gas. it's just sometimes it revs up and down and sounds like it might be sucking air when it revs down but maybe that's just because the rpms go so low, I'm not sure.
 
  #8  
Old 01-20-2016, 09:55 PM
kellysguy
kellysguy is offline
New User
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
kellysguy is starting off with a positive reputation.
Neighbor put a new autozone IAC valve on and it was worse than the old one. We put the old one back on today.
 
  #9  
Old 01-21-2016, 03:23 AM
Preuett's Avatar
Preuett
Preuett is offline
New User
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Springdale AR
Posts: 18
Preuett is starting off with a positive reputation.
i kinda have the same issue.. i replaced the iac and it helped dramatically.. but it still does it a little bit.. and the other day it went all haywire on me while driving it.. unplugged the iac and it quit.. drove it a little bit then plugged it back in and it was running normal.. thinking about buying a new one again.. just cause its new doesnt always mean it works..
im having the problem with the no codes also.. cel is on but every time i hook it up to read it there are no codes or the scanner says no vehicle registered.. my luck the dam hook up doesnt even work.. monday im dropping it off at a mechanic to diagnosis it for me.. ill reply with what he tells me.. it may or may not be the same thing but every little bit of info helps..
 
  #10  
Old 01-21-2016, 04:28 AM
pbrogan
pbrogan is offline
New User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
pbrogan is starting off with a positive reputation.
ok thanks guys
 
  #11  
Old 01-21-2016, 06:22 AM
timbersteel's Avatar
timbersteel
timbersteel is online now
Postmaster
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Mexico, Missouri
Posts: 4,178
timbersteel has a good reputation on FTE.timbersteel has a good reputation on FTE.timbersteel has a good reputation on FTE.
Both of you should Pull the PCM.

Look for leaking, bulging, blown capacitors.

It takes 30 minutes maybe to pull and inspect it.

Money saved if you catch it failing now or just throwing parts to it.
 
  #12  
Old 01-21-2016, 07:20 AM
subford's Avatar
subford
subford is offline
Post Fiend
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Easton,Ks
Posts: 21,918
subford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud of
^^^^ X2
Yes it does sound like a bad PCM.
 
  #13  
Old 01-21-2016, 08:05 PM
pbrogan
pbrogan is offline
New User
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 9
pbrogan is starting off with a positive reputation.
where exactly is the Pcm? under the dash on the drivers side? and if it is bad where do u recomend getting one from?
 
  #14  
Old 01-21-2016, 09:33 PM
FordWithAproblem
FordWithAproblem is offline
New User
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Poplar Grove, Il
Posts: 6
FordWithAproblem is starting off with a positive reputation.
I'm having the same issue with my 4.9l il-6. Could it be the PCM also?
 
  #15  
Old 01-22-2016, 07:08 AM
subford's Avatar
subford
subford is offline
Post Fiend
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Easton,Ks
Posts: 21,918
subford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud ofsubford has much to be proud of
Originally Posted by pbrogan View Post
where exactly is the Pcm? under the dash on the drivers side? and if it is bad where do u recomend getting one from?
On your 1990 it is in the drivers kick panel and it removable from inside the cab. But you have to unplug its plug from under the hood first. 10mm socket.

I get my spare PCM computers from a salvage yard (pick-en-pull). You need open it up before you buy it and check the PC board to see if it has let any smoke out the stuff on it and it has not been ate by a cap. When I get it home I then replace the caps and test it out.

The plug under the hood:


/
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 1990 f150 5.8l e4od won't idle smooth


Contact Us - About Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.