1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Papaw and Grandson Project 1952 F1

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2016, 08:10 AM
Jim and Austin
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Papaw and Grandson Project 1952 F1

My Grandson Austin turns 17 this month. He decided he wanted an old truck last year so he bought one! Austin was born deaf and mildly autistic. He purchased the truck with money he saved from gardening an selling produce two years and allowance over the years. We are very proud of him!
I have spent a lifetime working in auto and large truck mechanical repairs. This is my first attempt of a revitalization of this kind.
I think we can pull this off and be a great project to complete together. We will also in .list the help of my best friend Frank. He can weld and fix anything, or so he says! To his credit he really does know this older stuff.
The old F1 is really in decent shape. The PO had already disassembled the vehicle when we located it and decided to purchase it. All the parts appear to be there. We do not know anything about the engine other than it turns over. It is supposed to have low miles since overhaul however that is to be determined.
Austin wants his truck to be original with some modifications to the upholstery of seat, maybe the wheels, and he wanted the hood insulation kit from LMC with the Ford Logo. I do not agree with his choice as I wanted to place it on a 4x4 blazer frame. It is his truck so will do it his way.
I mentioned Austin is mildly autistic. His attention to detail is excellent. I know he will be watching me!
We got the rear axle out tore down the springs. we used a 4" Dewalt angle grinder with a heavy braided brush to clean the rust off. We removed both axles, backing plates, emergency brake cables and cleaned and prepared it all for primer. going back with new wheel cylinders, axle bearings, and wheel seals.