Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

92 f150 no start

Old 12-28-2015, 06:19 AM
geod998
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
92 f150 no start

Greetings Gents and happy holidays. I'm a noob here , and like most ,I have problems. I have a 92 F150 w/4.9 6cyl flairside,single aft fuel tank, EEC-IV. Truck has been sitting in the garage for years. Fuel pump was bad,so I changed the tank and pump/sender module and filter. I now have a no start situation, but it will start and run on ether/gas /whatever I spray into the TB. New fuel pump works makes 60psi at the fuel rail shrader when I turn the key on, and when I jump the FP test port to ground. Question 1 is: should it hold that pressure for any period of time? (KOEO of course). I checked the FPR and it will hold 20 in/hg pretty much forever. Everything else I ever worked on with FI had a fuel pressure leakdown test, and I dont see mention of it anywhere about the fords. Other issues so far are :I get a very low .036v VREF reading at the TPS and MAP ,but pin 26 (VREF) brn/white at the PCM is 5v (normal). I also get injector pulse with a noid light at the PCM (40 and 60)black/white wires. Not sure if I have pulse at the inectors yet because I'm still trying to get one of the FI plugs off under the plenum w/o breaking it. OK now that I've made this post a mile long...any thoughts? Thanks much -George

Old 12-28-2015, 07:04 AM
timbersteel
Logistics Pro
Received 46 Likes on 36 Posts
Sounds like the injectors aren't firing.

Been sitting long enough for a friendly rodent to chew through some wires, maybe?