1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

Locion of IVS

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2015, 10:04 AM
clifford allen
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Locion of IVS

My truck.. 95 F350 7.3 is doing the same symptoms as in a thread about throttle pedal and IVS switch. Where is the IVS and what does it look like?
I am a relative newbie to the 7.3 and it is bone stock, except I did put a 6 position tuner on it. It did wonders on the 50 HP setting for running empty.
When the truck stutters ( lopes) the wait to start light flashes. I also have the light flashing on the lock out OD. I had Auto zone run codes and they were not able to get any. I have a different guy coming to try to read codes this sunday. Truck has 150,000 miles and is in excellent shape otherwise.

Old 11-05-2015, 10:34 AM
madpogue
Lead Driver
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
It's on the pedal. It's the one that's a simple switch, with a two-wire connector. The typical symptoms of an IVS problem are that the truck won't rev up above idle, or it drops to idle, and won't rev up again until you release the pedal and press it again.

If the OD-Off light is flashing, there's a transmission code stored. AutoZone, et al cannot retrieve codes from our trucks. You need a device capable of reading the "Ford Enhanced" parameters.

WTS light flashing is another thing entirely. That typically means an interruption in main power to the PCM. Akin to you turning the key off and back on.

Of course, the FIRST thing to do is to take the tuner/chip (is it a programmer or a chip, BTW?) out of the picture. Don't just set it to stock, but remove it completely, and see if the problems persist.

Old 11-05-2015, 10:54 AM
clifford allen
New User
I had all these problems before I added the chip. I was hoping the chip might "fix" some of them.
I have had the dropping to idle and having to play with the pedal since I got the truck. It has just gotten more often.