1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

2002 7.3L glow plugs/injectors and else?

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2015, 04:24 PM
comsupany
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

So I may have to replace injectors. What other parts and procedures should I consider at the same and how hard would it be--i mean I'm not an expert mechanic but reasonably handy, are they recommended for a novice?

I like the idea of pulling the valve covers, replacing injectors, glow plugs and wiring harness.

Old 10-24-2015, 08:01 PM
Absolute
Elder User
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Id check all the wiring under there. And for the price of a new harness set, I'd just put a new on in there. I'd do the injector O rings too, I assume your doing that with the injectors. Also check the cups to make sure there not leaking or damaged. That's the only one I see you having trouble with since you need a special tool, and careful careful careful, clean clean clean. Can't say that enough. Not sure of the age of your glow plugs, I'd do them too. Make sure the torque is right on those injectors.

Old 10-26-2015, 01:18 PM
ExPACamper
Post Fiend
Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
If you haven't pulled injectors before, I'd highly recommend getting help from someone who has

I had help replacing the injector orings (your new ones should come with new orings), which requires pulling the injectors, installing the new orings, and replacing them.

I was VERY GLAD I chose to get help

There are quite a few things and tricks you are likely not yet aware of. It can be coached, but the learning curve can be a challenge, as can handling all the items by yourself.

The extra set of hands alone....worth gold

This is especially true of the passenger side. LOTS of things to be removed there

Where are you located? You can put this in your profile and we'll stop asking

Old 10-26-2015, 01:31 PM
comsupany
Senior User

Originally Posted by ExPACamper