replace intake valve with hose(s) on 96 F350 powerstroke diesel

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2015, 03:01 PM
mscham
5th Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
replace intake valve with hose(s) on 96 F350 powerstroke diesel

Hi, I'm new to diesels.

I acquired the 96 F350 7.3 Power Stroke Diesel about a year ago. At that time the mechanics that performed the engine check identified something in the air intake they had not seen before. They also said it was non-functional due to it being wired open.

A bit of research later... I identified it as a "positive air shutoff valve" made by RodaDeaco .

Due to:
  • the unavailability of parts,
  • the fact that its not functional,
  • and its replacement being > 2k
I want to leave it off when I take the valve cover's off to replace the glow plugs.
The challenge being, I don't know what the intake looks like without it nor where I might be able to get the parts I need {Yes, I'm familiar with the local pull it off parts lot [though they haven't had any similar vehicles in the last year]}.

suggestions?

here are a few pic's to show you what I'm talking about.

Air intake valve from drivers quarter panel

Air intake valve from over radiator

Air intake valve from front of turbo

Air intake valve from drivers side of turbo

Air intake valve from drivers side of turbo closer

Air intake valve from passenger side of turbo

Old 10-04-2015, 03:09 PM
sean9049
Senior User
that is really odd...never seen that. if you are mechanically inclined then i would suggest find a part out on Craigslist,Fleabay,junkyard etc from a 94.5-97 truck like yours and get the whole intake system from turbo boot to filter(including the CCV) remove and replace with the stock system and disconnect any wires that come off of the old system. Good luck!