best carburetor for truck 390? - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Notices

best carburetor for truck 390?

Old 07-12-2015, 02:46 AM
eclectix
Senior User
eclectix is starting off with a positive reputation.
best carburetor for truck 390?

what is the best carburetor for a truck 390? i will probably get an edelbrock performer intake manifold to go with.

i have received one suggestion to go with an edelbrock carburetor.

i am looking for reliability and simplicity as well as fuel mileage.

i might be putting this together quickly so any timely specific (no jargon please, i am not technical in this area) advice appreciated.

thanks!

Old 07-12-2015, 06:30 AM
Roger C
Senior User
Roger C is starting off with a positive reputation.

I'm going to use a 4100 on my 390. It was on my 352 and worked great.

Old 07-12-2015, 11:27 AM
lee
Elder User
lee is starting off with a positive reputation.
2x4 or 4x4?

If mileage is your concern, stay with a 2bbl, if you must have a 4bbl then stay out of the secondary.... good luck with that ;-)

If you do alot of 4x4 stuff, the Holley Truck Avenger is a good Carb. Carbs don't like large angels and bouncing. The Truck Avenger is made to compensate for this.

Any Holley in the 650cfm range should do fine but,... stay away from the double pumpers as they are more of a Strip/race carb. Use a vacumm secondary Holley.

Edelbrock made good carb too. I have ran the Street Avenger with success.

Old 07-12-2015, 04:10 PM
eclectix
Senior User
Thanks for the useful tips guys.

The 4100 referred to-- is that autolite? is it the stock ford carburetor that comes with a 360?

It sounds as if i could stick with the 2 barrel stock carburetor for the moment, and explore the 4 barrel notion later (if ever). I had heard that the Edelbrock carb has an economy mode at low throttle. Also that the Holley carbs were prone to decay.

For the future, how about EFI then (say an Edelbrock kit), would that help gas mileage and if so, how much?