Sponsored by: Moser

2011 F150 3.5L Ecoboost hesitation from idle

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2015, 12:03 AM
KentuckyKid
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2011 F150 3.5L Ecoboost hesitation from idle

Hello all, and let me introduce myself. I have recently purchased a 2011 F150 Ext cab with 3.5L ecoboost with 69k miles. I have no experience with these engines prior to now. I've always wanted a full size truck and after driving my 98 S10 for 17 years, I decided it was time for a new truck. I hope I made the right choice in going for the 3.5 instead of 5.0.

On to my question. I've noticed that the truck hesitates from a dead stop or anytime the RPM's are under 1k. It feels like its missing or running lean/rich during the spin up of RPM's. When I drive it hard, it does seem to subside for a little, and I've heard people say that they run better when run hard. I can attest to that, but is this hesitation normal for an almost 70k mile engine? I am getting 15ish MPG on almost all city driving since I have bought it, but I do expect that to change (job hunting and current commute is less than 2 miles each way).

The only time I get to open it up is when I go run errands out of the immediate local area or visiting friends and family. On one of those trips, before I noticed the hesitation, i attempted to accelerate from 60 to pass on the expressway and it bucked and resisted like a horse. It finally took off up to 80 and completed that journey with no issue but the check engine light came on for a bit. The check engine light went off when I shut it down and hasn't come back on since.

Any helpful tips for where to look would be greatly appreciated.

Stephen

New ride: 2011 3.5L Ecoboost

Old 06-25-2015, 02:27 AM
NASSTY
Cargo Master
Received 22 Likes on 17 Posts