Cost to Install Airbags and compressor

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2015, 04:25 AM
Captain 'Murica
Junior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cost to Install Airbags and compressor

I have been pulling a bumper pull for several years now and starting to think about upgrading to a 5th wheel when I get home from Iraq. I'm looking at 35-40' BH models that have a "dry" pin weight in the 1700-1900 range and thinking that I may want to have airbags put on if I go this route. I have a 14' 6.7L F-250 4x4 Supercrew Lariat. I know I will be pushing the limit on the scales so I am anticipating some squat on the rear end of the truck. I have also read that it will smooth out the ride.

I am starting the PR campaign with my wife and need to get my estimated costs sorted out. She doesn't like surprises. Looking for advice from guys with experience. Would I need airbags on all four wheels or just the back two? Anybody had these systems installed and have a round about cost out the door? Is this something that I could install with enough time and the right tools? Any other mods/upgrades to make the ride smoother?

Thanks for the input.

Old 06-17-2015, 06:12 AM
Desert Don
Lead Driver
Received 4,625 Likes on 1,643 Posts
Originally Posted by Captain 'Murica
I have been pulling a bumper pull for several years now and starting to think about upgrading to a 5th wheel when I get home from Iraq. I'm looking at 35-40' BH models that have a "dry" pin weight in the 1700-1900 range and thinking that I may want to have airbags put on if I go this route. I have a 14' 6.7L F-250 4x4 Supercrew Lariat. I know I will be pushing the limit on the scales so I am anticipating some squat on the rear end of the truck. I have also read that it will smooth out the ride.