Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Nylon, Rubber or Steel

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2015, 10:44 AM
Duffield iii
Trailering
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Nylon, Rubber or Steel

So finally getting around to fixing a major air intrusion problem. Hooked up some clear line between the lift pump and the filter and lots of air bubbles even moments of more air then fuel. I have already replace the Nylon line from the tanks to the Tank selector valve with rubber, replaced the valve and PO removed the factory water separator.

Looking at the steel line running from the old water separator to the lift pump it looks like this may be my problem. I am going to replace the line from the new selector valve all the way to the lift pump, so here is the question....

Rubber seems the easiest but to get the injector line i have read i need looks the most expensive.

I am not that experienced in bending steel line so may be an adventure to get steel line and try to replace the factory stuff.

Not sure about the Nylon line, looks like i wold have to rig something to attach to lift pump (rigging is a strong suite of mine with years of practice)...

any advice of past experiences before i tackle this?

Old 06-10-2015, 02:28 PM
tjc transport
i ain't rite
Received 3,102 Likes on 2,164 Posts
it sounds like you are sucking air into the lift pump.
what i would do is disconnect fuel line into the lift pump and run it off a portable fuel source.
no bubbles? then start moving back towards the tank looking for where the air is getting into the system. you may just find the lines are good and the lift pump is bad.

Old 06-10-2015, 03:22 PM
Duffield iii
Trailering
Thanks TJC...I replaced the Lift Pump about a year ago (should have mentioned that), thought this was the issue when i first bought truck it started to loose power and die if i let foot of pedal...but that doesn't mean it is not the problem...i will check that before i start tearing lines out..