1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

First Truck Noob - 223 idle problems

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2015, 10:14 PM
cdc3jj
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First Truck Noob - 223 idle problems

Hello, my name is Cameron and I'm brand new here. I'm 33 living in Nashville TN. I bought my first truck last week, a 1964 f100. It's got the 223 with 3 on the tree. I've been working on a Chevy nova with a 250 for a couple years so I have some experience with 6's but I'm still learning and there seem to be some things unique to Ford.

The truck is as original as I've seen one. With the exception of the bed. The truck (allegedly) was a city work truck from 64-68 with a utility bed. Sold at auction in 68 w/o a bed and trickled it's way to me over the years. It has a plate on the radiator support the reads "64-F-5" which is a mystery to me. I ordered a 64 service manual off ebay earlier tonight so maybe that will shed some light on a few areas.

Anyhow, I'm having some problems setting a smooth idle. I set the point gap to .025, plug gap to .035. Plugs look good and the points and rotor look brand new. The timing is probably behind because if I get within 10* of TDC it studders and dies. The vac advance is nearly touching the block.

I'm going off my experience with Chevy so I'm sure there are some differences. It will run (although not smoothly) with the choke pulled about 15% out but the idle is very high. I'd guess 2500rpm as I haven't put a tach in yet. It revs (climbs) very smoothly, but it won't hold idle for crap. If I push the choke all the way in, also studdering death.

I've also noticed the fuel filter doesn't stay full. I can see a small puddle in the bottom and a slight trickle when the motor is reved. Every inline fuel filter I've ever seen always stays nice and full. Is this a Ford thing? The fuel pump is supposedly new and the tank was supposedly flushed according to the previous owner.