Sponsored by: Moser

'78 F150 4WD steering help

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2015, 02:53 PM
sporkacus
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'78 F150 4WD steering help

I've got a 78 F150 craigslist find that I am working up to be a wheeler. The steering box is pretty shot and I am putting in a new one from redhead, but while I am at it I am hoping to get all the parts lined up from whatever lift was put on it years ago.

I am pretty new to this, so I am hoping that the FTE community can come together to school me and let me know what I have and what I need. Drop pitman arm? Etc...

See pics below, and let me know if any other angles are needed.

Old 04-27-2015, 03:14 PM
HIO Silver
Post Fiend
Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts
That's a stock pitman arm.

...I don't think it has a lift.

Are those 33-inch tires?

Old 04-27-2015, 03:21 PM
sporkacus
Junior User
They are 35's. Is there a part or place I can measure to make sure the geometry is right? I just don't want to throw in a new steering gearbox and then have to go taking stuff apart again.

Old 04-27-2015, 04:17 PM
HIO Silver
Post Fiend
My rig wore 35s with 2-inch lift lift coils and sat generally level. I subsequently installed 4-inch lift.

Post up the front and rear vertical measurements from the wheel hub centerline to the fender arch. Doing so will take out any height contributed by tire height/sizing.

And post a pic of the rear suspension.. specifically, the area of the lift blocks.

Old 04-27-2015, 05:04 PM
sporkacus
Junior User
Up front it looks to be around 24" from wheel hub to the top of the fender arch. on the back it is more like 25", but it doesn't have a wheel well since it is a flat bed. Also it looks like the front clip was replaced with a 76-77 one since the grill is that pattern and not the 78 version. Don't know if that makes a difference. It is quite the frankenstein truck.

Here is the rear suspension block from the back. And then a picture of the flatbed.